Some Ideas

Thanks to everyone who provided feedback.  I want to address what everyone wrote, and also, I came up with some ideas and would like to share them with you.

Responses regarding the timelines issue were pretty split, some said it would ruin it for them, some said the opposite, but I would like it if everyone gave the week delay version a try and see if they still enjoy it.  Also, remember that there are more regularly scheduled comics in the next 3 weeks, the delay will begin after the first week of September.

A lot of people told me to try to get the puzzles still, but that is not an option, I tried my best.  I also can’t have the delay be under a week because I need to choose the best puzzle to write about from the entire week.  Though it takes minutes to write, it then takes me a day to draw.

Some people suggested I employ a do puzzles from other papers, or old, classic puzzles.  I don’t think this would work because I have branded the site as an NYT comic and I want to feature puzzles people have done recently, and reach the largest audience possible.  However, if anyone wants me to do another puzzle, I can do commissions that you can post and distribute if you like.  I can even feature you in the comic!

Some people suggested I charge a subscription fee.  That wouldn’t really fix the problem, plus I want everyone to be able to view the comics, however, I did have another idea.  For a fee, I will allow people to choose the puzzle from the past week that they want me to do the comic on.  Email me if you are interested in this.

Please continue to give me feedback as you get a feel for the new format.   Additionally, since I believe I’ll be posting every Sunday night/Monday morning, people will know when to expect a new comic.  And if I do a Sunday puzzle, it’ll still be the day of!

So let’s try this out and see how it goes.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. sara winter

     /  August 20, 2015

    yes yes keep going! delay is not a problem to me…!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow Hayley's Blog on WordPress.com
  • Follow me on Twitter

